List of NBA Teams With The Most Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy

Sports are not only recreation or hobby. Sports have become an integral part of a country’s culture. In the United States, there are many sports played. The most common ones are football, basketball, baseball, and hockey. These four comprise the major leagues in the country. It is not only passion for these leagues but also revenues. Every year, thousands of tickets and other merchandises are purchased around the world.

These leagues employ, train and motivate professional athletes to deliver results. Athletes go through physical toil in hopes to win the championships. The athletes have become local celebrities thanks to television and radio broadcasts. These athletes also garnered international attention online through . Sports indeed cross borders.

In the field of basketball, for example, professional athletes are very popular especially if it is the Finals season. The winner between Eastern Conference and Western Conference will take the Larry O’Brien Championship trophy. All teams covet this prestigious trophy but only one team will take it home. So far what time has the most championship trophy?

Here’s the list:

Boston Celtics

First on the list is the Boston Celtics. The team has 17 championships on their hands. They won in 1957, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1968, 1969, 1974, 1976, 1981, 1986 and 2008 finals. The team is considered the most successful team in NBA because of their successive wins.

Los Angeles Lakers

Boston is followed by Los Angeles Lakers with 16 championships on their hands. They won in 1949, 1950, 1952, 1953, 1953, 1954, 1972, 1980, 1982, 1985, 1987, 1988, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2009 and 2010 finals.

Chicago Bulls

Third on the list is Chicago Bulls with 6 championships on their hands. They won in 1991, 1992, 1993,1996, 1997 and 1998 finals.

San Antonio Spurs

After the Chicago Bulls comes San Antonio Spurs with 5 championships on their hands. They won in 1999, 2003, 2005, 2007 and 2014 finals.

Golden State Warriors

As for the Golden State Warriors, they are the fifth team with the most championship – 4 to be exact. They won in 1947, 1956, 1975 and 2015 finals.

Other teams with the most wins include Philadelphia 76ers (3 championships), Detroit Pistons (3 championships), Miami Heat (3 championships), New York Knicks (2 championships) and Houston Rockets (2 championships). As for Atlanta Hawks, Washington Wizards, Oklahoma City Thunder, Cleveland Cavaliers, Portland Trail Blazers, Milwaukee Bucks, Dallas Mavericks, and Sacramento Kings had 1 championship.

For the remaining teams or franchises like Brooklyn Nets, Charlotte Hornets, Denver Nuggets, Indiana Pacers, Los Angeles Clippers, Memphis Grizzlies, Minnesota Timberwolves, New Orleans Pelicans, Orlando Magic, Phoenix Suns, Toronto Raptors and Utah Jazz, no championship win yet.

Basketball is a contact sport. Contact sports are characterized by physical contact between athletes. Generally, there are three grades of contact sport. According to the American Academy of Pediatrics, football, rugby, lacrosse, boxing and ice hockey are collision sport. Basketball and soccer are regarded as contact sport. Squash and baseball are considered called limited-contact sport.

For those who want to play basketball, it is best to practice precaution always because injuries are prevalent.

Comments are closed.